445 SW Spindrift Depoe Bay, OR 97341


Greg A Steinke (1942 – ) is Former Chair, Departments of Art and Music, (The Joseph Naumes Endowed Chair in Music), also Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Marylhurst University, Marylhurst, Oregon (now retired, 6/15/01); Associate Director, Ernest Bloch Music Festival (‘93–97) and Director, Composers Symposium (‘90–97) (Newport, OR); Professor Steinke holds a B.M. degree from Oberlin Conservatory, a M.M. degree from Michigan State University, a M.F.A. degree from the University of Iowa, and a Ph.D. from Michigan State University. He is the author of articles on new oboe literature and music composition; he has done the revisions to the Paul Harder Harmonic Materials in Tonal Music, 6, 7, 8, 9 & 10th Ed., Basic Materials in Music Theory, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11& 12th Ed., Bridge to Twentieth-Century Music, Rev. Ed. for Prentice-Hall, and most recently with H Owen Reed a revision to the Harder-Reed Basic Contrapuntal Techniques for Warner Bros. Pub.; and an article, “Music for Dance: An Overview” in The Dance Has Many Faces, 3rd Ed., Ed. by Walter Sorell, a cappella books. He holds membership in a number of professional organizations. He has served as the National Chairman of the Society of Composers, Inc. (1988–97) and is currently national President of NACUSA (‘12–) and Secty/Treas of NACUSA Cascadia. Professor Steinke is very active as a composer of chamber and symphonic music with a number of published/recorded works and performances across the United States and internationally, as a speaker on interdisciplinary arts and as an oboe soloist specializing in contemporary music for oboe. His most recent composition honors include: Finalist (of 4)- ‘01 Seoul International Composers Competition. Winner of Delta Omicron International Music Fraternity Composition Competition, ‘02. Honorable Mention – ‘02 “Britten-on-the-Bay” Composition Competition Series XIII (Saxophone Quartet). Special Mention – ’03 USA International Harp Competition (Solo Harp). Finalist/Winner – ‘04 of COMA Open Score Project in England (Generic Quartet). Honorable Mention – ’05, VIII International Composition Competition of the Corfu Festival (Guitar). Co-winner of First Prize – ’08 2008 Areon Flutes International Chamber Music Competition (Flute Duet). Oregon Artist Fellowship – ’09. Co-winner – ’10 of 5th NACUSA Texas Composition Competition for my From ARMGART for Soprano and Piano. One of 6 finalists – ‘10 for RAM 2010 call for scores (for saxophone quartet) with my IN MEMORIAM: SACAGAWEA. Winner of Delta Omicron International Music Fraternity Composition Competition, ‘12. Second Place winner of Robert Avalon International Competition for Composers – ’12. Finalist (Orchestra – Professional Division) in the America Prize in Composition Competition for 2012 for All in a Moment’s Time for Viola and Orchestra, a 27′ work. OMTA Composer of the year 2012–13.